Update on the Regulatory framework – Transport Canada

by admin
Update on the Regulatory framework – Transport Canada

Update on the Regulatory framework

Transport Canada

As part of the development of the new regulations on UAVs and following the Notice of proposed amendments launched in the summer of 2015, Transport Canada held on June 28th 2016 a presentation on the proposed update of the Regulatory framework. For now, the regulation only includes UAVs 25 kg or less controlled in sight. Any operation outside of this framework must always be authorized by Transport Canada via a Special Flight Operating Certificate (SFOC). Following the update of June 28th, here is a summary document that Transport Canada provided.

__________________________________________________________________________________

 

Executive Summary

Update to Stakeholders on Unmanned Air Vehicles

June 2016

Following the consultation on the Notice of Proposed Amendment for small Unmanned Air Vehicles (UAVs), weighing 25 kg or less and operated within visual line-of-sight, Transport Canada has been finalizing the policy and regulatory framework.

The Department is currently developing proposed regulations that are expected to be made public in the Canada Gazette, Part I in spring 2017. Stakeholders and Canadians will have the opportunity to provide comments as part of the consultation period.

For stakeholders who may not be familiar with the process for making regulations, regulations are pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I for a formal comment period. Adjustments are made as required based on the comments received and the regulations are then published in the Canada Gazette, Part II and considered final. A transition period is normally provided prior to the coming into force of a new regulation. For more information about the Canada Gazette process:

http://www.gazette.gc.ca/cg-gc/lm-sp-eng.html.

At this time, the regulatory exemptions (exemption for under 2 kg / exemption for 2 kg to 25 kg) remain valid and will be updated prior to their current expiry date of December 16, 2016. For those that cannot meet the conditions of the exemptions, until such time as the final regulations are published, you can apply for a Special Flight Operations Certificate.

Transport Canada continues to seek a balanced and risk-based approach to both safely integrate UAVs into Canadian airspace and encourage innovation within this important new subsector of civil aviation.

Here are some highlights of the updated proposed policy and regulatory framework based on feedback received from stakeholders on the Notice of Proposed Amendment, industry growth, risk analysis and, where possible, discussions with international partners:

    • Removing the regulatory distinction between recreational and non-recreational users.
    • Exclusion to be made for modelling associations with robust safety guidelines. Introducing an “unregulated” category with a threshold of 250 g or less.
    • Reducing the “very small” weight threshold to 1 kg based on a risk assessments, safety analysis and ongoing research.
    • Marking and registration now for “small complex” only. Identification for other regulated categories.
    • UAV Design Standard now for “small complex” only (higher risk environments).
    • Pilot permit requirement for “small complex” UAVs. Knowledge requirements for “very small” and “small limited” UAVs commensurate to category.
    • Adjusting minimum age requirements to mirror manned aviation licensing requirements.
    • Regulating some tethered UAVs as obstacles and not regulating indoor operations.
    • Requiring liability insurance for all categories of UAVs.

Transport Canada would like to reiterate that these are only proposed changes and are not yet currently in place. The formal consultation period along with the actual text of the proposed regulations will be communicated to all stakeholders for consultation when ready and published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in spring 2017.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

It is important to add that Transport Canada representatives mentioned that the best way for the companies to prepare for the new regulation is to work to become a compliant operator. This involves complying with the specified staff instruction 623-001 section 9.0 (procedures of requests for the complying operators) and to the annex C (complying criteria regarding the fabrication of small UAVs) and D (complying criteria for small UAVs operators).

Annex C enunciates the platform complying criteria. To undergo complex operations, under the proposed Regulatory framework, it will be necessary to operate with one or more platforms recognized as compliant. The devices should therefore comply with the design criteria of annex C and be documented as such.

Annex D sets out the conformity criteria to conduct these operations. This means documenting operation management, security management, risk assessment, training program and procedures through an Operations Manual.

The complying operators at the time of the entry in force of the new regulation will not have a big step to climb. The implementation of the new documentation is expected in the fall of 2017 with a transition period for the operators.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+

Mise à jour du cadre réglementaire proposé – Transports Canada

by admin
Mise à jour du cadre réglementaire proposé – Transports Canada

Dans le cadre du développement de la nouvelle réglementation sur les UAV et suite à l’avis de propositions de modifications lancé à l’été 2015, Transports Canada a tenu, le 28 juin 2016, une présentation sur la mise à jour du cadre réglementaire proposé. Pour le moment, la réglementation n’inclus que les UAV de 25 kg ou moins pilotés en visibilité directe. Toute opération sortant de ce cadre devra toujours faire l’objet d’une autorisation de la part de Transports Canada via un Certificat d’opérations aériennes spécialisée (COAS). Suite à la mise à jour du 28 juin dernier, voici un document récapitulatif que Transports Canada a fourni.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Sommaire exécutif

Mise à jour sur les UAVs auprès des intervenants

Juin 2016

Suite aux consultations sur l’avis de modification proposé pour les petits véhicules aériens (UAV) sans pilote de 25 kg ou moins et exploités en visibilité directe, Transports Canada a travaillé à finaliser la politique et le cadre réglementaire.

Le Ministère développe présentement les règlements proposés qui devraient être rendus publics dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada au printemps 2017. Les intervenants et les canadiens auront à ce moment l’occasion de fournir des commentaires dans le cadre de la période de consultation.

Pour les intervenants qui ne connaissent pas le processus d’élaboration de règlements, ceux-ci sont publiés au préalable dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada, pour une période officielle de commentaires. Des ajustements sont apportés à la réglementation proposée, au besoin, selon les commentaires reçus. Les règlements sont ensuite publiés dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada et sont considérés comme définitifs. Une période de transition est normalement prévue avant la date d’entrée en vigueur de nouvelle réglementation. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Gazette du Canada, veuillez consulter: http://www.gazette.gc.ca/cg-gc/lm-sp-fra.html.

Pour l’instant, les exemptions réglementaires (exemptions pour les moins de 2 kg/exemptions pour 2 kg à 25 kg) sont valides et seront mises à jour avant leur date d’expiration du 16 décembre 2016. Jusqu’à ce que les règlements soient en vigueur, pour les intervenants qui ne peuvent pas rencontrer les conditions des exemptions, vous devez demander un Certificat d’opérations aériennes spécialisées (COAS).

Transports Canada continue de développer une approche équilibrée et fondée sur le risque qui, d’une part intègre en toute sécurité les drones dans l’espace aérien canadien et d’autre part, encourage l’innovation au sein de cet important nouveau sous-secteur de l’aviation civile.

Voici quelques points saillants de la politique et du cadre réglementaire basés sur la rétroaction reçue des intervenants sur l’avis de proposition de modification, la croissance de l’industrie, l’analyse de risques et, lorsque possible, les discussions avec nos partenaires internationaux :

    • Élimination de la distinction réglementaire entre l’utilisation récréative et non-récréative.
    • Exclusion pour les associations de modélisme ayant des lignes directrices solides en matière de sécurité.
    • Création d’une catégorie « non réglementée » pour les UAV de 250 g ou moins.
    • Réduction du seuil de poids des UAV « très petits » à 1 kg.
    • Marquage et inscription uniquement sur les UAV petits – complexes; identification requise pour les autres catégories.
    • Normes de conception pour les opérations sur UAV petits – complexes (environnements à risques élevés).
    • Exigences en matière de connaissances pour les UAV très petits et les UAV petits – limités en fonction des différentes catégories.
    • Ajustement des exigences en matière de restriction d’âge pour s’aligner sur les exigences de certification des aéronefs habités.
    • Réglementation des UAV en vol captif, mais pas pour les activités à l’intérieur.
    • Exigence d’une assurance responsabilité civile pour toutes les catégories d’UAV.

Transports Canada tient à souligner que ces changements sont proposés et ne sont pas encore en place. La période de consultation formelle avec le texte actuel du projet du règlement seront communiqués à tous les intervenants afin de les consulter lorsqu’ils seront publiés dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada au printemps 2017.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Il est important d’ajouter que les représentants de Transports Canada ont mentionné que la meilleure façon pour les entreprises de se préparer à la nouvelle réglementation est de faire le travail pour devenir opérateur conforme. Il s’agit de se conformer aux directives précisées dans l’instruction visant le personnel 623-001 à la section 9.0 (processus de demande pour exploitant conforme) et aux annexes C (critères de conformité de la conception d’un petit UAV) et D (critères de conformité d’un exploitant de petits UAV).

L’annexe C énonce les critères de conformité de l’appareil. Afin de pouvoir mener des opérations complexes, selon la structure réglementaire proposée, il faudra opérer avec un ou des appareils reconnus comme conformes. Les appareils doivent donc se conformer aux critères de conceptions de l’annexe C et être documentés comme tels.

Rappelons aussi que l’annexe D énonce les critères à respecter pour mener ces opérations. Il s’agit de documenter la gestion des opérations, la gestion de la sécurité, l’évaluation des risques, le programme de formation et les procédures à travers un Manuel d’opérations.

Les opérateurs qui seront conformes au moment de l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle réglementation n’auront pas une grande marche à gravir. La mise en application de la nouvelle documentation est prévue à l’automne 2017 avec une période de transition pour les opérateurs.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+