Hovercam UAV innovates in the field of wind farms inspection

by admin
Hovercam UAV innovates in the field of wind farms inspection

Some of Quebec wind farms are now using a new control method offered by Hovercam UAV in order to inspect their wind farms through imagery. In collaboration with Vent de l’Est, the company proposes inspection services carried out by drones and intends to execute visual inspection of wind mills across Canada and the United States.

Mr. Steven Fugere, VP Development at Vent de l’Est and first partner to benefit from Hovercam UAV services declares: « The established method pursues two main goals. The first one is to improve the workers safety, since no technician is required to climb on the structure in order to carry out the inspection. The second objective allows performing the inspection faster while preserving the quality of the services. Hovercam UAV proved us that the inspections are carried out much more quickly and safely compared to the conventional methods. The clients are now saving on operating costs and are able to put their wind mills back in service faster. »

« The number of wind mills to be inspected varies according to certain criteria such as winds or fogs. To this day, under optimal conditions and according to the type of inspection being carried out, we inspected up to 16 wind mills in one day, » declared Mr. Patrice Savard, VP Operations at Hovercam UAV.

In addition to offering unprecedented secure inspections, Hovercam UAV allows wind farm owners to optimize repair and maintenance and to save on substantial costs.

The drone inspection company performs a complete record of the blades in high-definition images. A thorough analysis of each of the imperfections is then made. The results are presented as inspection reports analyzing the different problems. In addition, customers have access to the inspection history and can visualize the evolution of their fleet across time.

The researches and tests which secured today’s successful methodology have been developed in collaboration with the wind TechnoCentre team.

From Dolbeau-Mistassini, the company established an office at the UAS Centre of Excellence in Alma, another in Maria, one in Saguenay at the Centre de géomatique du Québec as well as one in Quebec City. The company is active in the agriculture, forestry, industrial, energy and public safety fields. It also offers services of inspection of cell towers and power lines.

For more information, you can visit the website www.hovercam-uav.com or contact Mr. Savard on this toll free number: 1-877-352-6671.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+

Hovercam UAV innove dans l’inspection de parcs éoliens

by admin
Hovercam UAV innove dans l’inspection de parcs éoliens

Certains parcs éoliens du Québec utilisent maintenant une nouvelle méthode de contrôle offerte par Hovercam UAV afin d’inspecter leurs parcs éoliens par imagerie. En collaboration avec Vent de l’est, l’entreprise offrant des services d’inspection par drone prévoit réaliser l’inspection visuelle d’éoliennes à travers le Canada et les États-Unis.

Steven Fugere, VP au développement chez Vent de l’Est et premier partenaire à bénéficier des services d’Hovercam UAV déclare: « La méthode établie vise deux principaux objectifs. Le premier est d’améliorer la sécurité des travailleurs, car aucun technicien n’a besoin de monter sur la structure afin d’effectuer le travail d’inspection. Le second objectif permet d’effectuer le travail plus rapidement tout en conservant la qualité d’inspection.  Hovercam UAV nous a prouvé que les inspections s’effectuent beaucoup plus rapidement et de manière plus sécuritaire comparativement aux méthodes conventionnelles. Cela permet donc aux clients d’épargner des coûts d’opération et de remettre leurs éoliennes en service plus rapidement. »

« Le nombre d’éoliennes pouvant être inspectées varie selon certains critères tels que les vents ou la présence de brouillard. À ce jour, dans des conditions optimales et selon le type d’inspection effectué, nous avons pu inspecter jusqu’à 16 éoliennes en une journée, » affirme M. Patrice Savard, VP aux opérations chez Hovercam UAV.

En plus d’offrir une sécurité d’inspection sans précédent, Hovercam UAV permet aux propriétaires de parcs éoliens d’optimiser les travaux de réparation et maintenance et leur fait économiser de frais substantiels.

L’entreprise d’inspection par drone effectue un relevé complet des pales en images haute définition. Ensuite, une analyse approfondie de chacune des imperfections est effectuée. Les résultats sont remis sous forme de rapport d’inspection caractérisant les différents problèmes. De plus, le client peut accéder à un historique d’inspection et visualiser l’évolution de son parc à travers le temps.

Les recherches et les essais qui font aujourd’hui le succès de cette méthodologie d’inspection ont été développés en collaboration avec l’équipe du TechnoCentre éolien.

Originaire de Dolbeau-Mistassini, l’entreprise possède un bureau au centre d’excellence sur les drones à Alma, détient un établissement à Maria, un bureau à Saguenay au centre géomatique Québec et un bureau dans la ville de Québec. L’entreprise œuvre dans le secteur de l’agriculture, forestier, industriel, de l’énergie et de la sécurité publique. Elle offre également des services d’inspections de tours cellulaires et de lignes de transport électrique.

Pour toute information, vous pouvez visiter le site web www.hovercam-uav.com ou joindre M. Savard au numéro sans-frais suivant : 1-877-352-6671.

 

 

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+