Unmanned Systems Canada 2017 Student UAS Competition Results

by admin

Alma, QC – May 2nd, 2017 – Thirteen university student teams from across Canada competed in the Flying Phase of the 9th Unmanned Systems Canada UAS Student Competition hosted by Centre d’Excellence sur les Drones (CED) in Alma QC from 28 – 30 April. Congratulations to the winner,  University of Toronto – UAV Division.

The purpose of this annual competition is to promote and develop Canadian expertise, innovation and experience in unmanned systems technologies at the university and college levels. This year’s wildlife monitoring  scenario tasked  the teams  to census and locate nests of three different types of geese in the remote Canadian wilderness. The special challenge this year was that the Unmanned Aerial System (UAS) was required to extract eggs from the nests to allow wildlife biologists to test the eggs for levels of pesticides.

This phase was preceded by a design phase for which submissions and winners were announced earlier this year. We congratulate all participating teams for their ingenuity, dedication and their respective institutions for the support given to their endeavors.

 

Phase 1: Design Phase Results:

1st place: University of Toronto –Aerial Robotics Division

2nd place: University of Toronto – UAV Division

3rd place: Université de Sherbrooke – VAMUdeS

 

Phase 2: Flying Phase Results :

1st place: University of Toronto – UAV Division

2nd place: Ryerson University – Team RUAV

3rd place: École de technologie supérieure – Team Dronolab

To recognize innovation, perseverance and a healthy competitive spirit, prizes  recognizing those attributes were awarded. Unmanned Systems Canada is grateful for the participation of industry sponsors acting as judges to select the winners.

Innovation prize:   École de Technologie Supérieure – Team Dronolab who custom designed a robust modular system, easy to maintain, with the ability to integrate various payload components.

Pip Rudkin Memorial Award for Perseverance:  University of British Columbia – UAS.

The team came prepared for adversity by bringing their UAS from last year. When both of their UAS became unserviceable they made extensive modifications to the spare one and were able to get good data.

Judges Award for professionalism: University of Toronto – Aerial Robotics Division. The team conducted themselves with professional standards demonstrating excellent communication skills, a plan for every step including the use of checklists.

Cash prizes were awarded for Phase 1 & 2 in excess of $20,000 at the Awards Banquet held Sunday evening.

According to Mark Aruja, the Chairman of Unmanned Systems Canada, “This competition is a world-class event and amongst the most complex engineering competitions where the teams are required to respond to a customers requirements as they will in their industrial careers. We continue to see the best and brightest of our university students drawn to the innovations possible with unmanned aerial systems, and testing their skills in ever demanding scenarios. Once again I was impressed with how teams responded with novel solutions to the scenario that we presented to them and how they dealt with the chilly and windy conditions.”

 

This event is organized by a committee of volunteers including global leaders in the development and application of UAS systems, including wildlife biologists and aerospace engineers, former competitors now in industry. The competition rotates its location annually between Alma QC and Southport MB. In 2018, Southport MB will host the 10th annual competition that raises the bar once again to attract the best and brightest in Canada to developing technical solutions to some of society’s greatest challenges.  The competition could not take place without the generous support of our sponsors.

 

 

2017  Phase 2  Competition Teams

 

University of Calgary – Schulich UAV

University of British Columbia – UAS

Université de Sherbrooke – VAMUdeS

University of Toronto – AeRo

University of Toronto – UAV

University of Waterloo – WARG

University of Windsor – UWINg

 

Carleton University – Blackbird

Concordia University – UAV

École de technologie supérieure – Dronolab

McGill University- Aero McGill Drones

Ryerson University – RUAV

Simon Fraser University – Guardian

 

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+

Compétion étudiante nationale de drones 2017 – Annonce des gagnants

by admin

Alma, QC – 3 mai 2017 – Treize équipes rassemblant des étudiants universitaires de partout au Canada ont compétitionné lors de la phase 2 – Scénario opérationnel de la 9e compétition étudiante nationale de drones, qui a eu lieu au Centre d’excellence sur les Drones (CED) à Alma, QC du 28 au 30 avril. Félicitations à l’Université de Toronto – UAV Division, équipe gagnante de l’édition 2017.
L’objectif de cette compétition annuelle est de promouvoir et de développer l’expertise, l’innovation et l’expérience canadienne des technologies des systèmes non habités aux niveaux universitaire et collégial. Cette année, le scénario de surveillance de la faune monté pour l’occasion proposait aux équipes de recenser et de localiser des nids de trois différentes espèces d’oies en région éloignée. A cela s’est ajouté un défi de taille, qui consistait à manœuvrer les drones pour extraire les œufs des nids et ainsi permettre aux biologistes de la faune de tester les niveaux de pesticides de ces oeufs.

 

Cette phase opérationnelle a été précédée d’une phase de conception pour laquelle les soumissions et les gagnants ont été annoncés plus tôt cette année. Nous tenons à féliciter toutes les équipes participantes pour leur ingéniosité et leur dévouement ainsi que leur institution d’enseignement respective pour le soutien apporté à leur participation.

 

Résultats de la phase 1 – Conception

1ère place: Université de Toronto – AeRo

2ème place: Université de Toronto – UAV Division

3ème place: Université de Sherbrooke – VAMUdeS

 

Résultats de la phase 2 – Scénario opérationnel

 

1ère place: University de Toronto – UAV Division

2ème place: Université Ryerson – Team RUAV

3ème place: École de technologie supérieure – Team Dronolab

 

Afin de reconnaître l’innovation, la persévérance et un sain esprit de compétitivité, des prix reconnaissants ces qualités ont été décernés. Unmanned Systems Canada remercie la participation des nombreux partenaires de l’industrie qui ont agit en tant que juges lors de la compétition pour aider à sélectionner les gagnants.
Prix innovation: École de technologie supérieure – Dronolab, qui a conçu un système modulaire robuste, facile à entretenir et capable d’intégrer différentes composantes de charge utile.

Prix commémoratif Pip Rudkin pour la persévérance: Université de la Colombie-Britannique – UAS.
L’équipe s’est préparée à compétitionner en apportant son drone de l’année dernière. Lorsque leurs deux drones de cette année sont devenus inutilisables, ils ont ainsi pu apporter des modifications importantes à leur système de l’an dernier et, ce faisant, collecter de bonnes données.

 

Prix des juges pour le professionnalisme: Université de Toronto – AeRo. L’équipe s’est conduite avec professionnalisme tout au long de la compétition, faisant preuve d’excellentes compétences en communication et préparant un plan pour chaque étape, comprenant l’utilisation de listes de contrôle.
Des prix en espèces totalisant plus de 20 000 $ ont été décernés pour les phases 1 et 2 au banquet de remise des prix tenu dimanche soir dernier.

 

Selon Mark Aruja, président d’Unmanned Systems Canada : «Ce concours est un événement d’envergure mondiale et fait partie des concours d’ingénierie les plus complexes, où les équipes sont tenues de répondre aux exigences de leurs clients tout comme ils le feront sous peu dans leur carrière technologique. Nous continuons de voir les meilleurs et les plus brillants de nos étudiants universitaires attirés par les innovations que rendent possibles les drones et tester leurs compétences en répondant à des scénarios de plus en plus exigeants. Encore une fois, j’ai été impressionné par la façon dont les équipes ont savamment apporté de nouvelles solutions au scénario que nous leur avons présenté et comment elles ont travaillé dans des conditions froides et venteuses».
Cet événement est organisé par un comité de bénévoles comprenant des leaders mondiaux du développement et des applications des systèmes de drones, tels des biologistes de la faune et des ingénieurs de l’aérospatiale, tous d’anciens concurrents travaillant maintenant pour l’industrie. La compétition est tenue biannuellement à Alma, QC et à Southport, MB. En 2018, Southport accueillera la 10e compétition annuelle, qui placera la barre encore plus haut pour attirer les meilleurs et les plus brillants étudiants canadiens qui développeront des solutions techniques à certains des plus grands défis de notre société. La compétition ne pourrait avoir lieu sans le soutien généreux de nos sponsors et partenaires.

 

Équipes 2017 – Phase 2

 

Université de Carleton University – Blackbird

Université de Calgary – Schulich UAV

Université de la Colombie-Britannique – UAS

Université de Sherbrooke – VAMUdeS

Université de Toronto – AeRo

Université de Toronto – UAV

Université de Waterloo – WARG

Université de Windsor – UWINg

Université Concordia – UAV

École de technologie supérieure – Dronolab

Université McGill – Aero McGill Drones

Université Ryerson – RUAV

Université Simon Fraser – Guardian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+