Major partnership in the cluster of Remotely Piloted Aircraft System; Signing of a letter of agreement beetween Aéro Montréal & UAS CE

by admin

Montréal, April 3rd 2017 – The President of Aéro Montréal, Ms. Suzanne Benoît, along with the Director General of the Unmanned Aerial System Centre of Excellence (UAS CE), Mr. Marc Moffatt, have signed earlier today an important letter of agreement to define their partnership in the field of Remotely Piloted Aircraft System (RPAS).

By signing this agreement, Aéro Montréal and the UAS Centre of Excellence agree to work together in establishing an RPAS working group.  By this letter they also agree to facilitate discussions through various events, promoting individual and common objectives, as well as supporting the establishment of a Québec RPAS Centre of Excellence.

This letter has been signed in the presence of the Québec minister of Economy, Science and Innovation (MESI) and minister responsible of the Digital Strategy, Mrs Dominique Anglade, during the International Aerospace Week – Montreal – 2017. This letter of agreement will more particularly allow to jointly develop an action plan, necessary for the implementation of Québec wide working group, as well as to organize events related to the development of an RPAS cluster at the UAS Centre of Excellence.

photo 1

Top row (From left to right): Mrs Dominique Anglade, Québec minister of Economy, Science and Innovation (MESI) and minister responsible of the Digital Strategy; Mrs Cynthia Garneau, President, Bell Helicopter Textron Canada & administrator, Board of Directors Aero Montreal; Down row (From left to right): Mrs. Suzanne Benoît, President of Aero Montreal; Mr. MarcMoffatt, Director General of Unmanned Aerial System Centre of Excellence (UAS CE)

The Remotely Piloted Aircraft System sector is booming. It has enormous potential for our Québec aerospace cluster companies, especially SMEs. Already, several companies in our industry are being proactive in penetrating this sector. Our strategy at Aéro Montréal is aligned with that of the federal and provincial governments, which recently announced incentives in their respective budgets to encourage innovation and excellence. I am very pleased with this agreement with the CED because it is part of this approach and supports the Québec aerospace ecosystem”, said President of Aéro Montréal, Ms. Suzanne Benoît.

The Director General of the UAS Centre of Excellence, Mr. Marc Moffatt further explained: “In the latest Québec Aerospace Strategy 2016-2026, the Québec government recognizes the importance of developing a regional ecosystem dedicated the civilian RPAS. The collaboration between the UAS CE and Aéro Montréal becomes therefore a very important alliance for the development of the Québec RPAS industry and community. Both organizations will join their efforts to position the Québec’s know-how in this area”, added Mr. Moffatt.

About the International Aerospace Week – Montréal

Holding its 3rd edition from April 3rd to April 7th 2017, events and activities of the week have been developed following one single objective: Offer companies a unique occasion to discover latest developments, networking as well as increasing their business relations. This year, the focus has been placed on Industry 4.0

The Week is organized in partnership with BDC and Norton Rose Fulbright.

About Aéro Montréal

Created in 2006, Aéro Montréal is a strategic think tank that groups all major decision makers in Québec’s aerospace sector, including companies, educational and research institutions, as well as associations and unions.

Aéro Montréal’s mission is to engage Québec’s aerospace cluster with a view to increasing its growth and expansion on the global scene. Its vision is to become a benchmark in global aerospace. To this end, it champions the following values: excellence, engagement, collaboration, versatility and innovation.

About the Unmanned Aerial Systems Centre of Excellence

The Unmanned Aerial Systems Centre of Excellence is a non-profit organization whose mission is to develop an international center of expertise focused on the development, applications and operations of UAS. The Center is an exceptional full-service facility offering world-class opportunities to organizations participating in all aspects of UAS development and operations.

The Center of excellence now counts 20 active members and has a large network of international partners. The UAS CE is also the co-founder of the International Consortium of aeronautical test sites (www.icatestsites.org). For further information about the UAS Centre of Excellence, please visit our website at www.cedalma.com.

photo 2

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+

Collaboration majeure dans le créneau d’excellence des drones: Signature d’une lettre d’entente entre Aéro Montréal et le CED

by admin

Montréal, le 3 avril 2017 – La présidente-directrice générale d’Aéro Montréal, Madame Suzanne M. Benoît, et le directeur général du Centre d’excellence sur les drones (CED), Monsieur Marc Moffatt, ont procédé, plus tôt aujourd’hui, à la signature d’une importante lettre d’entente définissant la collaboration des deux organisations dans  le secteur des drones.

En signant cette entente, Aéro Montréal et le Centre d’excellence sur les drones conviennent de travailler conjointement à établir un comité de travail sur le sujet des drones, organiser des événements destinés à la communauté drone, favoriser les objectifs individuels et communs des deux organisations, en plus de soutenir l’émergence d’un Créneau d’excellence drone au CED.

L’entente a été signée en présence de la  ministre de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation et ministre responsable de la Stratégie numérique du Québec, Madame Dominique Anglade, dans le cadre de la Semaine internationale de l’aérospatiale – Montréal – 2017. Elle permettra plus particulièrement de développer conjointement un plan d’actions nécessaire à la mise en œuvre d’un comité de travail dédié aux drones, en plus de l’organisation d’événements reliés au développement d’un Créneau d’excellence drone au CED.

photo 1

Sur la photo: Rangée du haut (de gauche à droite) : Madame Dominique Angladeministre de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation et ministre responsable de la Stratégie numérique du Québec;Madame Cynthia Garneau, présidente, Bell Helicopter Textron Canada & administratrice, conseil d’administration Aéro Montréal Rangée du bas (de gauche à droite) : Madame Suzanne M. Benoît, présidente-directrice générale Aéro Montréal; Monsieur Marc Moffatt, directeur général du Centre d’excellence sur les drones (CED)

«Le secteur des drones est en pleine expansion. Il présente un potentiel immense pour nos entreprises de la grappe aérospatiale québécoise, notamment les PME. Déjà, plusieurs entreprises de notre industrie se montrent proactives à percer ce créneau. Notre stratégie chez Aéro Montréal est alignée à celle des gouvernements fédéral et provincial qui, récemment, ont annoncé dans leurs budgets respectifs des incitatifs pour favoriser l’innovation et l’excellence. Je suis très satisfaite de cette entente avec le CED car elle s’inscrit dans cette voie et vient appuyer l’écosystème aérospatial du Québec », souligne la présidente-directrice générale d’Aéro Montréal, Madame Suzanne M. Benoît.

Pour le directeur général du Centre d’excellence sur les drones, Monsieur Marc Moffatt : «Dans sa Stratégie québécoise de l’aérospatiale 2016-2026, le gouvernement du Québec reconnaît l’intérêt de développer un écosystème régional consacré aux drones civils. La collaboration entre le CED et Aéro Montréal constitue donc une alliance très importante pour le développement de l’industrie du drone au Québec, puisque nous travaillerons ensemble à positionner le Québec comme un savoir-faire incontournable dans le domaine», a-t-il commenté.

À propos de la Semaine internationale de l’aérospatiale – Montréal

Tenant sa 3e édition du 3 au 7 avril 2017, tous les événements et activités de la semaine ont été conçus dans un seul but : offrir aux PME une occasion unique de découvrir les plus récentes avancées, de réseauter et de développer leurs relations d’affaires dans tous les créneaux de l’aérospatiale. Cette année, l’accent a notamment été mis sur le virage vers l’Industrie 4.0.

La Semaine est organisée en partenariat avec la BDC et Norton Rose Fulbright.

https://www.aeromontreal.ca/semaine-internationale-aerospatiale-montreal-2017

 

À propos d’Aéro Montréal

Créée en 2006, Aéro Montréal est un forum stratégique de concertation qui réunit l’ensemble des premiers dirigeants du secteur aérospatial québécois issus de l’industrie, des institutions d’enseignement, des centres de recherche et incluant les associations et les syndicats.

Aéro Montréal a pour mission de mobiliser la grappe aérospatiale du Québec en vue de soutenir sa croissance et son rayonnement sur la scène internationale. Sa vision est de devenir la référence mondiale en aérospatiale. Pour ce faire, elle prend appui sur les valeurs suivantes : l’excellence, l’engagement, la collaboration, l’intégrité, l’agilité et l’audace.

À propos du Centre d’excellence sur les drones

Le Centre d’excellence sur les drones (CED) est un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission consiste à développer un centre international d’expertises, de services et d’innovation en conception, application et exploitation de drones. Le CED compte 17 membres actifs et dispose d’un important réseau de partenaires. Le CED fait aussi partie du Consortium international de sites de tests aéronautiques, dont il est cofondateur (www.icatestsites.org). Pour plus d’informations sur le CED ou pour connaître les derniers développements, consultez notre site internet au www.cedalma.com.

photo 2

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+