$1.6 million for the establishment of a pre-qualification centre for unmaned aerial systems in Alma

by admin
$1.6 million for the establishment of a pre-qualification centre for unmaned aerial systems in Alma
De gauche à droite : M. Marc Moffatt, directeur général, Centre d’excellence sur les drones, M. Éric Girard, député provincial de Lac-Saint-Jean, adjoint parlementaire du ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, M. Richard Hébert, député fédéral de Lac-Saint-Jean et secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre des Petites Entreprises et de la Promotion des exportations, M. Marc Asselin, maire de la ville d’Alma et M. Alain Fortin, président, Centre d’excellence sur les drones

Alma, July 15, 2019 – The governments of Canada and Quebec are providing a total of $1.6 million in funding to the Unmanned Aerial System Centre of Excellence (UAS-CE) to support the establishment of the Qualia Pre-Qualification Centre in Alma, in the Saguenay–Lac?Saint?Jean region.

This project, valued at $2.4 million, will enable companies in the civilian and commercial drone sector to validate their products and services, as well as the results of research and development activities associated with the design of drone systems, in real-world situations.

This financial assistance includes a $800,000 non-repayable contribution from the Government of Canada under Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions’s Regional Economic Growth Through Innovation program. Funding of $800,000 from the Government of Quebec, through the Programme de soutien aux organismes de recherche et d’innovation, has also been confirmed. The Government of Quebec’s support is in line with the objectives of Quebec’s Aerospace Strategy 2016?2026 to develop the drone sector and its civilian applications.

Mr. Richard Hébert, Member of Parliament for Lac?Saint?Jean and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Small Business and Export Promotion, on behalf of the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development and Minister responsible for CED, and Mr. Éric Girard, Member of the National Assembly for Lac?Saint?Jean and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, on behalf of Mr. Pierre Fitzgibbon, Minister of the Economy and Innovation and Minister responsible for the Lanaudière Region, made the announcement today.

 

Quotes:

“The RPAS (drone) sector is expanding rapidly in Québec. By establishing a site where companies from the RPAS sector will be able to test their new products in an optimal way, the CED is supporting their growth ambitions. It responds directly to the need to create synergies among aerospace companies with a view to implementing operational demonstrators and commercializing new products. The StartAéro 360° initiative, which we launched in 2018, is designed specifically to encourage these synergies.”

Suzanne M. Benoît, President of Aéro Montréal.

“I am delighted with CED’s support for the Qualia project, which will contribute to the growth of the local, regional and national economies and the vitality of our communities. This assistance also reaffirms the role that the Government of Canada plays in the development of innovative businesses and organizations here at home and, consequently, in the growth of the Canadian economy.”

Richard Hébert, Member of Parliament for Lac-Saint-Jean and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Small Businesses and Export Promotion

“The Qualia project is in alignment with the Government of Canada’s priorities by fostering the growth and evolution of inclusive regional innovation ecosystems. It will also support the development of a strong industry by promoting the mobilization, growth and competitiveness of companies in the drone industry. We promote long-term economic development, and that benefits organizations, businesses and communities.”

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development and Minister responsible for CED

“The establishment of this new centre is of strategic importance for the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region, which, thanks in part to the initiatives of the Centre d’excellence des drones, has developed an expertise that is now recognized in the drone sector. I am convinced that this project will allow our region to gain an even stronger foothold internationally and that it will generate considerable economic spinoffs here and everywhere else in Quebec.”

Éric Girard, Member for Lac?Saint?Jean and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Energy and Natural Resources

“Thanks to the Qualia Pre-Qualification Centre, the UAS-CE will have the necessary infrastructure and equipment to enable Quebec companies in the civil and commercial drone sector to be among the world leaders. We are therefore enthusiastic about supporting this important project, which will strengthen the competitiveness of a key sector of the aerospace industry and whose civil applications are associated with a number of well-established economic sectors in Quebec, such as security, energy, agriculture and natural resources.”

Pierre Fitzgibbon, Minister of Economy and Innovation and Minister responsible for the Lanaudière region

 

Highlight:

  • Founded in 2011, UAS-CE provides a world-class infrastructure for the design, testing, application and operation of civil and commercial drones. This centre is located at the Alma Airport, which offers a 5,000-foot paved runway, an automated weather information system, navigation systems and other drone testing facilities. In addition, UAS-CE has access to one of the only areas in Canada where drone flights can be conducted beyond visual range.

 

Related links:

  • For more information about CED and its priorities, see the 2019-2020 Departmental Plan or visit the site at dec-ced.gc.ca.
  • To receive real-time news releases from the Ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation, subscribe to the appropriate RSS feed at economie.gouv.qc.ca/rss.

 

Link to Qualia Test Site Video

 

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+

1,6 M$ accordés pour l’implantation d’un centre de préqualification de systèmes de drones à Alma

by admin
1,6 M$ accordés pour l’implantation d’un centre de préqualification de systèmes de drones à Alma
De gauche à droite : M. Marc Moffatt, directeur général, Centre d’excellence sur les drones, M. Éric Girard, député provincial de Lac-Saint-Jean, adjoint parlementaire du ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, M. Richard Hébert, député fédéral de Lac-Saint-Jean et secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre des Petites Entreprises et de la Promotion des exportations, M. Marc Asselin, maire de la ville d’Alma et M. Alain Fortin, président, Centre d’excellence sur les drones

Alma, le 15 juillet 2019. – Les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec attribuent des aides financières totalisant 1,6 million de dollars au Centre d’excellence sur les drones (CED) pour appuyer l’implantation du Centre de préqualification Qualia à Alma, dans la région du Saguenay–Lac?Saint?Jean.

Ce projet, évalué à 2,4 millions de dollars, permettra aux entreprises du secteur des drones civils et commerciaux de valider, en situation réelle, leurs produits et services ainsi que les résultats des activités de recherche et de développement qui sont associées à la conception des systèmes de drones.

L’aide financière comprend une contribution non remboursable de 800 000 $ accordé par le gouvernement du Canada en vertu du programme Croissance économique régionale par l’innovation de Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec (DEC). L’attribution d’une contribution financière de 800 000 $ du gouvernement du Québec, par l’entremise du Programme de soutien aux organismes de recherche et d’innovation, est également confirmée. Soulignons que l’appui du gouvernement du Québec rejoint l’objectif de la Stratégie québécoise de l’aérospatiale 2016?2026 visant à développer le secteur des drones et ses applications civiles.

Le député de Lac?Saint?Jean et secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre de la Petite Entreprise et de la Promotion des exportations, M. Richard Hébert, au nom du ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique et ministre responsable de DEC, l’honorable Navdeep Bains, et le député de Lac?Saint?Jean et adjoint parlementaire du ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, M. Éric Girard, au nom du ministre de l’Économie et de l’Innovation et ministre responsable de la région de Lanaudière, M. Pierre Fitzgibbon, en ont fait l’annonce aujourd’hui.

 

Citations :

« Le secteur RPAS (drone) est en pleine expansion au Québec. En mettant en place un site où les entreprises du secteur RPAS pourront tester  leurs nouveaux produits de manière optimale, le CED soutient les entreprises dans leur volonté de croissance. Il répond directement à la nécessité créer des synergies entre des entreprises du secteur aérospatial afin de mettre en place des démonstrateurs opérationnels et commercialiser de nouveaux produits. L’initiative StartAéro 360°, que nous avons lancée en 2018, vise justement à encourager ces synergies.»

Suzanne M. Benoît, présidente-directrice générale d’Aéro Montréal.

« Je me réjouis du soutien de DEC au projet Qualia, un appui qui contribuera à la croissance de l’économie locale, régionale et nationale, et à la vitalité des collectivités. Cette aide réaffirme également le rôle que joue le gouvernement du Canada dans le développement des entreprises et organismes innovants d’ici et, par conséquent, dans la croissance de l’économie canadienne. »

Richard Hébert, député de Lac-Saint-Jean et secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre de la Petite Entreprise et de la Promotion des exportations

« Le projet Qualia rejoint les priorités du gouvernement du Canada puisqu’il favorise la croissance et l’évolution d’écosystèmes d’innovation régionaux inclusifs. Il permettra également de soutenir le développement d’une filière forte en favorisant la mobilisation, la croissance et la compétitivité des entreprises de l’industrie du drone. Nous faisons la promotion du développement économique à long terme, et cela bénéficie autant aux organismes et aux entreprises qu’aux communautés. »

L’honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique et ministre responsable de DEC

« La mise en place de ce nouveau centre revêt une importance stratégique pour la région du Saguenay–Lac?Saint?Jean, qui a développé, notamment grâce aux initiatives du CED, une expertise désormais reconnue dans le secteur des drones. Je suis d’ailleurs convaincu que ce projet permettra à notre région de s’imposer davantage sur la scène internationale et qu’il engendrera des retombées économiques considérables ici et partout ailleurs au Québec. »

Éric Girard, député de Lac-Saint-Jean et adjoint parlementaire du ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles

« Grâce au Centre de préqualification Qualia, le CED disposera des infrastructures et des équipements nécessaires pour permettre aux entreprises québécoises du secteur des drones civils et commerciaux de figurer parmi les leaders mondiaux. C’est donc avec enthousiasme que nous soutenons cet important projet, qui renforcera la compétitivité d’un domaine clé de l’industrie aérospatiale et dont les applications civiles sont associées à plusieurs secteurs économiques bien implantés au Québec, tels que la sécurité, l’énergie, l’agriculture et les ressources naturelles. »

Pierre Fitzgibbon, ministre de l’Économie et de l’Innovation et ministre responsable de la région de Lanaudière

 

Fait saillant :

  • Fondé en 2011, le CED offre des infrastructures de calibre international destinées à la conception, à l’essai, à l’application et à l’exploitation de drones civils et commerciaux. Ce centre est implanté sur le site de l’aéroport d’Alma, qui offre une piste asphaltée de 5 000 pieds, un système automatisé d’information météorologique, des systèmes de navigation et d’autres installations permettant les essais de drones. Par ailleurs, le CED a accès à l’une des seules zones au Canada où il est possible d’effectuer des vols de drones hors de portée visuelle.

 

Liens connexes :

 

Vidéo du projet Qualia

 

 

 

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+