International Consortium of Aeronautical Test Sites (ICATS)

www.icatestsites.org

The Unmanned Aerial System Centre of Excellence, in collaboration with the UAV test & service centre (CESA) (Bordeaux, France), the Oklahoma State University – University Multispectral Laboratories (Oklahoma, United States), and the the National Aeronautical Centre (Wales, United Kingdom), has created the International Consortium of Aeronautical Test Sites (ICATS).

The first international organization of its kind, the consortium will support the industry by enabling the development, testing and ultimate certification of Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)/Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS) to allow for their use in non-segregated airspace. This will be achieved by sharing of information on operational safety, flight regulations and, when allowed to do so, actual operational experiences. The consortium will also encourage the industry to demonstrate and prove sub-system technology that will enable the necessary international standards for future UAS/RPAS construction to be created, and will work with their respective regulatory bodies to safely develop UAS/RPAS capabilities while continuing the operational confidence building process.

The test centres will support and guide the industry in the development, operations and certification of UAS/RPAS as established by their respective regulating bodies. The centres will therefore accompany and funnel the innovation of the private sector while coordinating with government entities. The sharing of information on rules, regulations and actual test results between the test sites will consequently minimize the stovepipe approach that might otherwise prevent cross-border operations of unmanned systems. The test centres will help continue to bridge the gap between the establishment of regulations and actual operations.

The members of ICATS

UAS CE logo2013 copie

Unmanned Aerial System Centre of Excellence (UAS CE)

The Unmanned Aerial System Centre of Excellence is a non-profit organisation whose mission is to develop an international centre of expertise and innovative services in the design, operations and applications of UAS. The UAS CE counts sixteen members in its ranks plus an important network of international partners.

OSU-UML

The Oklahoma State University – University Multispectral Laboratories (OSUUML)

Government-owned, contractor-operated (GOCO), the University Multispectral Laboratories (UML) is a not-for-profit trusted-agent institution operated by Cherokee Nations Research Laboraties, in exclusive partnership with Oklahoma State University and the State of Oklahoma. UML provides research, development, test, evaluation and training (RDT&E) laboratory and field facilities in support of C5ISR, cyber, UAS, energy and related missions across all federal, state, local and commercial requirements.

CESA Drones Logo

Le Centre d’Essais et de Services sur les Systèmes Autonomes (CESA)

The CESA, the first French civilian UAS testing zone, is a result of collaboration between the Regional Council of Aquitaine, the State, the French civil aviation authority (DGAC) and the Ministry of Defense. Managed and operated by the Bordeaux Technowest technopole, CESA will soon allow certification and qualification of autonomous systems of less than 150 kg.

NAC-logo-colour

National Aeronautical Center (NAC)

The National Aeronautical Centre (NAC) is a unique location in the UK that enables the development, testing and demonstration of systems and technologies associated to the aeronautical industry. Its key feature is the world’s first area of restricted airspace designed specifically for military and civilian unmanned systems operations. This is enhanced by the facilities and organisations.

logo Catuav

CATUAV Tech Center

(member since June 2014)

CATUAV Tech Center (CTC) is located 45 km north of Barcelona. The Center provides excellent conditions for UAV development and testing for all companies, universities and interested individuals. These new facilities offer all you need to speed up your UAV design and test process, including especially dedicated UAV friendly airspace free of obstacles and interferences in a peaceful environment, where you can fully concentrate on your development.

logo

Air Traffic Laboratory for Advanced Systems (ATLAS)

(member since July 2014)

ATLAS is a Flight Test Center which offers the international aerospace community an aerodrome equipped with excellent technological and scientific facilities and airspace ideally suited for the development of experimental flights with light and tactical Unmanned Aircraft System (UAS) or Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS). ATLAS Center holds the first complex of buildings exclusively dedicated to safely perform tests, simulations and validation of technologies to be applied to UAS/RPAS, involving Air Traffic Management (ATM). Unique in Europe, these are the first facilities exclusively designed for testing these aircrafts, a field considered worldwide as one of the most promising in international aerospace industry.

north dakota

North Dakota Northern Plains UAS Test Site

(member since November 2014)

North Dakota is a proven leader in Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) with the experience, resources and leadership to help drive the industry’s growth. The state is one of six Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) UAS Test Sites conducting research to determine how to best integrate UAS into the national airspace. North Dakota’s Northern Plains UAS Test Site represents the first site to have been certified by the FAA as ready for operations in last April 2014.

Other organizations

UAS CE is also member of numerous organisations, where it represents its members.

Consortium international de sites de test aéronautiques (ICATS)

www.icatestsites.org

Le centre d’excellence sur les drones, en collaboration avec le Centre d’Essais et de Services sur les Systèmes Autonomes (CESA) (Bordeaux, France), l’Université de l’État d’Oklahoma – University Multispectral Laboratories (Oklahoma, États-Unis),et le Centre aéronautique national (Pays de Galles, Royaume-Uni) a créé, en 2014, le consortium international de sites de tests aéronautiques (ICATS).

Première organisation internationale de ce type, le consortium soutiendra l’industrie en permettant le développement, les essais et la certification finale de systèmes aériens sans pilote (UAS) /systèmes d’aéronefs pilotés à distance (RPAS) pour permettre leur utilisation dans l’espace aérien non restreint. Cet objectif sera atteint par le partage d’information sur la sécurité opérationnelle, sur les règlements de vol et, lorsque autorisé, sur des expériences opérationnelles réelles. Le consortium encouragera également l’industrie à démontrer et prouver les capacités des sous-systèmes qui permettront l’établissement des normes internationales nécessaires pour la construction des futurs UAS/RPAS. Il travaillera en collaboration avec les organismes de réglementation respectifs à élaborer, en toute sécurité, les capacités des UAS/RAPS tout en poursuivant l’actuel processus visant à assurer la confiance envers ces systèmes.

Les centres de tests vont soutenir et guider l’industrie dans le développement, l’exploitation et la certification des UAS / RPAS établis par leurs organismes de réglementation respectifs. Les centres vont ainsi accompagner et canaliser l’innovation du secteur privé tout en coordonnant avec les entités gouvernementales. Le partage de l’information sur les règles, les règlements et les résultats des tests entre les sites d’essais vont par conséquent minimiser l’approche cloisonnée qui pourraient autrement empêcher les opérations transfrontalières des systèmes pilotés à distance. Les centres de test permettront de continuer à combler l’écart entre la mise en place de la réglementation et les opérations réelles.

Les membres d’ICATS

UAS CE logo2013 copie

Le Centre d’excellence sur les drones (CED)

Le Centre d’excellence sur les drones est un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission consiste à développer un centre international d’expertises, de services et d’innovation en conception, applications et exploitation de drones. Le CED est composé de 16 membres actifs et dispose d’un important réseau de partenaires internationaux.

OSU-UML

L’Université de l’État d’Oklahoma – University Multispectral Laboratories (OSUUML)

L’OSU-UML est une société sans but lucratif gérée par un partenariat public-privé, propriété de l’état et gérée par les Laboratoires de recherche des Nations Cherokee, en partenariat exclusif avec l’Université de l’état de l’Oklahoma et l’État de l’Oklahoma. UML fournit un laboratoire pour la recherche, le développement, les tests, l’évaluation et la formation (RDT & E) et des installations pour soutenir les activités de C5ISR, de cyber, de systèmes sans pilote, sur l’énergie et sur les missions connexes et cela, en correspondant à toutes les exigences des lois fédérales, d’État, locales et commerciales.

CESA Drones Logo

Le Centre d’Essais et de Services sur les Systèmes Autonomes (CESA)

Le Centre d’Essais et de Services sur les Systèmes Autonomes, la première zone d’essais de drones civils français, est le résultat d’une collaboration entre le Conseil Régional d’Aquitaine, l’État, la Direction Générale de la l’Aviation Civile (DGAC) et le Ministère de la Défense. Piloté et exploité par la technopole Bordeaux Technowest, le CESA permettra prochainement de certifier et de qualifier des systèmes autonomes de moins de 150 kg.

NAC-logo-colour

Le Centre aéronautique national (NAC)

Le Centre aéronautique national est un lieu unique au Royaume-Uni qui permet le développement, les tests et la démonstration de systèmes et de technologies associées à l’industrie aéronautique. Sa caractéristique clé est qu’il est le premier lieu dans le monde à bénéficier d’un espace aérien restreint conçu spécifiquement pour l’exploitation des systèmes sans pilote militaires et civils. Ceci est renforcé par les installations et organismes établis au Centre, qui supportent ensemble l’environnement de travail le plus spécialisé du secteur.

logo Catuav

CATUAV Tech Center

(membre depuis juin 2014)

Le CATUAV Tech Center (CTC) est situé à 45 km au nord de Barcelone. le Centre fournit d’excellentes conditions pour le développement de drones et les tests pour lesentreprises, les universités et les individus intéressés. Ces nouvelles installations offrent le nécessaire pour accélérer votre conception de drones et tester les processus, dont un espace aérien convivial sans obstacles ni interférences, où vous pourrez vous concentrer pleinement sur votre développement. Ces nouvelles installations sont en cours deconstruction à l’heure actuelle et sont opérationnelles depuis juin dernier.

logo

Air Trafic Laboratory for Advanced Unmanned Systems(ATLAS)

(membre depuis juillet 2014)

ATLAS est un centre de tests en vol situé à Villacarrillo, en Espagne. Le Centre offre à la communauté aéronautique internationale un aérodrome équipé d’excellentes installations scientifiques et technologiques, en plus d’un espace aérien parfaitement adapté au développement des vols expérimentaux à l’aide de drones/systèmes d’aéronefs télépilotés tactiques et légers. ATLAS détient le premier complexe d’infrastructures exclusivement dédié à l’exécution en toute sécurité de tests, de simulations et de validation des technologies pour les drones/systèmes d’aéronefs télépilotés impliquant la gestion du trafic aérien. Unique en Europe, ce sont les premières installations exclusivement conçues pour ces appareils, un domaine considéré dans le monde entier comme l’un des plus prometteurs dans l’industrie aéronautique internationale.

north dakota

North Dakota Northern Plains UAS Test Site

(membre depuis novembre 2014)

Le Dakota du Nord est un chef de file reconnu dans le milieu des appareils sans pilote qui possède l’expérience, les ressources et le leadership nécessaire pour aider à stimuler la croissance de l’industrie. Cet État fait partie des six (6) sites de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) effectuant des recherches pour déterminer la meilleure façon d’intégrer les drones dans l’espace aérien national. Le site de tests de systèmes d’aéronefs télépilotés Northern Plains du Dakota du Nord est le premier site à avoir été certifié par la FAA pour opérer, en avril dernier.

Autres organisations

Le CED est aussi membre de nombreuses organisations où il représente ses membres.